

ACCREDITATION EVIDENCE

Title: Institutional Review Committee Charter

Evidence Type: Clear

Date: Fall 2021

WAN: 22-0404

Classification: Resource

PII: No Redacted: No



Western Wyoming Community College Standing Committee Charter

Committee Name: Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Mission: To conduct research that involves the use of human subjects, the College is required by federal mandate to have an assurance of compliance for protection of human research subjects. This assurance serves as WWCC's agreement with the government in promising that all individuals involved in human subjects research will be treated ethically. All projects conducted at WWCC by instructors, administrators, staff, and students that involve human subjects must be reviewed.

Responsibilities: Review and approval of all research protocols is the responsibility of the Institutional Review Board. The IRB is responsible for protection of the rights, welfare and privacy of research subjects through an initial review and subsequent oversight of all human subjects research.

Chairperson(s): Kristine Clark

Recorder(s): Kristine Clark

Audience: IRB Committee Members

Creating Membership: The Academic Council appoints faculty IRB members for three-year terms. The Institutional Review Board includes at least five faculty members. The members should reflect the diversity of the institution and the community. A minimum of two members should be experienced in human subjects research. There must be one scientific member, one non-scientist member, and one member who is not affiliated with WWCC.

Term: 3 year term

Meeting Frequency: Once a month

Measures of Success:

This is a required oversight body for human research to be in compliance with the federal government and the protection of human rights. The sole purpose of the IRB is to ensure protection of human participants in research studies.

Sponsor: AVP of Institutional Effectiveness

Membership Table:

Committee	Voting/	Name of	Term Begin	Approx.
Position	Nonvoting	Individual		Annual Hours
Faculty	Voting	Kristine Clark	1 st Term: Fall 2013-Spring 2016 2 nd Term: Fall 2016-Spring 2019 3 rd Term: Fall 2019-Spring 2022	20
Faculty	Voting	Dragan Skropanic	1 st Term: Fall 2014-Spring 2017 2 nd Term: Fall 2014-Spring 2020 3 rd Term: Fall 2020 – Spring 2023	10
Faculty	Voting	Joshua Holmes	1 st Term: Fall 2018-Spring 2021 2 nd Term: Fall 2021 – Spring 2024	10
Faculty	Voting	Karen Lackey	1st Term: Fall 2021-Spring 2024	10
Faculty	Voting	Shane Westfall	1st Term: Fall 2019-Spring 2022	10
Community Member	Voting	Aidan Brady	1 st Term: Fall 2020-Spring 2023	10